ILT’s One Act Play is Festival is on in August 2022!

On the weekend of 12-14 August 2022, ILT will once again host the longest-running festival of its type in Australia (and the Southern Hemisphere – for that matter).

Session Times and further details are available via our ticket system.

Want to help out Front of House on the weekend? Sign up on our Front of House Roster!

2022 Adjudicator

Back to Adjudicate in 2022 is Elodie Boal. Elodie was scheduled to adjudicate for us in 2021 but (for obvious COVID reasons) was unable to do so. Here’s Elodie’s background, and why we can’t wait for her to adjudicate at our Festival his year!

Elodie Boal – 2022 Adjudicator


Elodie is an award-winning actor, director, producer, and playwright. Back from studying her Masters of Theatre (Directing) at VCA in Melbourne, Elodie has spent many years in the industry perfecting her craft, which ventures into many areas of the arts.

In 2022, Elodie joined SK Entertainment as a full-time Producer and Business Manager and is currently working on the national tours of FRIENDS! THE MUSICAL PARODY, MENOPAUSE THE MUSICAL and THE TAP PACK. Independently, she produces theatre with her company, Mira Ball Productions, and has also collaborated with THAT Production Company as an Actor and Producer on COSI and as Associate Producer on the 2021 Matilda-nominated production of TICK, TICK… BOOM!.

Elodie’s a published playwright with Australian Plays and has penned several scripts including UPDATE, THE DESCENT and WONDERED. In 2019, Elodie received five Del Arte recognitions, including Best Actress, Best Direction and Best Production, for her work as an actress, director, and producer of X-STACY. Elodie has also received Gold Coast Palm Awards for Best Supporting Actress (2017), Best Community Production (2019), and was nominated as Best Director (2019). In this same year, Elodie was also nominated for the Seven News Young Achievers Awards for her work in empowering emerging artists.

Elodie’s directing credits include INTO THE WOODS, THE ROAD TO HUNTSVILLE (Wynnum Fringe), THE SPOOK (assisting Daniela Farinacci), and THE O MOMENT (La Boite Theatre’s HWY), X-STACY, and JEKYLL & HYDE. Her performance credits include OKLAHOMA!, THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST, ARE YOU BEING SERVED, COSI, PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, SUMMER OF THE ALIENS, PICNIC AT HANGING ROCK and WONDERED. In 2022, Elodie will join the cast of Act React’s ‘Wilde’ comedy, THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING WASTED.

Outside of theatre, Elodie is the Creative Director and Founder of Theatre Haus, a digital platform for arts and entertainment across Southeast Queensland. Through this digital site, Elodie has produced several digital works including THE BRISBANE BUNCH and CAROLS IN THE HAUS. Elodie has also worked as a freelance writer and journalist with The Courier-Mail, Brisbane Times and Rave Magazine, and as a Reviewer and Freelance Writer with Scenestr
Magazine, Absolute Theatre, The Creative Issue and Theatre Haus.

For more information, please visit


What is a One Act Play Festival?

Each year, across South East Queensland, there is a flurry of thespian activity as small and large theatre groups select a one-act play, audition and cast the required actors and rehearse intently to create the very best possible production of that play.

While this is happening, entry forms are completed and sent off to the various theatre groups who host a weekend One Act Play Festival and then the fun begins. Each Festival has an average of 15 – 20 plays entered in either Intermediate or Open (Senior) categories and there is a wide range of awards available to be won. Each Festival chooses an Adjudicator to make the decisions and the final Awards session is always a highly emotional event. Festivals are held as far west as Dalby, south to Beenleigh and north to Sunshine Coast (Buderim) and the season runs from June to September. Some plays are entered into all the Festivals, some to only one or two, but regardless of the number, all involved speak of the fun, friendliness and rewards that are gained.·

We are proud that our Festival has the reputation of being one of the friendliest and best-organised Festivals in the South East Queensland Festival circuit and we would love your theatre group to submit a play this year.·

If your theatre group is interested in entering our exciting Festival, please contact the Festival Director, Craig Taylor on 0422 611 812 or via email to be put on the database.

The Ipswich Little Theatre One Act Play Festival continues to be the longest-running festival of its type in Australia and no one has yet disputed that claim.